TO VICTORY-OR DEATH!

When Union Colonel Andrew Keane led his blue-coated soldiers aboard the transport ship, he could not have foreseen that their next port of call would be in neither the North or South but *on* an alternate world where no human was free. Storm-swept through a space-time warp, Keane's regiment was shipwrecked in an alien land, a land where all that stood between them and destruction was the power of rifles over swords, spears, and crossbows.

Into this serfdom ruled by nobles and the Church, Keane and his men brought the radical ideas of freedom, equality, and democracy— and a technology centuries ahead of the world they must now call home. Yet all their knowledge and training might not save them from the true rulers there—creatures to whom all humans were mere cattle, bred for sacrifice!

"SOME OF THE BEST ADVENTURE WRITING IN YEARS!"

—Science Fiction Chronicle

"So you have come through the gate of light as have the other cattle of this world."

The astonishment on Andrew's face made the Tugar roar with delight. "Yes, we of the Horde know of the light, the gate that opens to bring us new races of cattle to feast upon. Some have tried to resist us; their bones filled our feasting pits."

Suddenly the Tugar's arm swung out. Andrew tried to duck under the blow, but it caught him on his left shoulder and he tumbled to the ground. The sharp crack of a carbine echoed out, and the Tugar staggered back. As Andrew came to his feet, there was a moment of silence. Then the Tugar's now bloody hand shot out, pointing at the rifleman.

"Kill me that cattle!" the Namer roared.

"Regiment take aim!" Andrew shouted and five hundred men snapped their rifles down on the Tugar forces....

RALLY CRY William R. Forstchen

ROC Published by the Penguin Group Penguin Books USA Inc., 37S Hudson Street, New York, New York 10014, U.S.A. Penguin Books Ltd, 27 Wrights Lane, London W8 5TZ, England Penguin Books Australia Ltd, Ringwood, Victoria, Australia Lost Regiment Series

1. Rally Cry (1991)

- 2. The Union Forever (1991)
- 3. Terrible Swift Sword
- (1992)
- 4. Fateful Lightning (1992)
- 5. Battle Hymn (1996)
- 6. Never Sound Retreat
- (1997)
- 7. A Band of Brothers (1998)
- 8. Men of War (1999)
- 9. Down to the Sea (2000)